Who We Are

The League of Women Voters is a non-partisan community based volunteer
organization that has fought since 1920 to improve our government and engage all
citizens in the decisions that impact our lives.  The League does not endorse
candidates or political parties. Community volunteers operate at national, state and
local levels through more than 800 state and local Leagues, in all 50 states as well
in DC, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands and Hong Kong.

Formed from the movement that secured the right to vote for women, the
centerpiece of the League’s activities remain to expand participation and give a
voice to all Americans and working to ensure voters have easy access to participate
in elections at every level.

Here in Anchorage, we register people to vote, participating in citizenship
ceremonies, work with students through the Youth Vote, host candidate forums,
and educational speakers, oversee elections for organizations and much more. We
also track all changes affecting voting and elections and let people know what is
going on.


Board of Directors


Joyce Anderson, President Keri Clark
Cari Zawodny, Vice President Carol Dickason
Margaret McDonagh, Secretary Diane Mathisen
Tina Delapp, Treasurer Beth Nordlund
Shirley Pittz
Pat Redmond
Schawna Thoma