Who We Are

The League of Women Voters is a non-partisan community based volunteer organization that has fought since 1920 to improve our government and engage all citizens in the decisions that impact our lives.  The League does not endorse candidates or political parties. Community volunteers operate at national, state and local levels through more than 800 state and local Leagues, in all 50 states as well in DC, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands and Hong Kong.

Formed from the movement that secured the right to vote for women, the centerpiece of the League’s activities remain to expand participation and give a voice to all Americans and working to ensure voters have easy access to participate in elections at every level.

Here in Anchorage, we register people to vote, participating in citizenship ceremonies, work with students through the Youth Vote, host candidate forums, and educational speakers, oversee elections for organizations and much more. We also track all changes affecting voting and elections and let people know what is
going on.


President – Vacant
Vice President Cari Zawodny
Secretary Carol Dickason
Treasurer Tina DeLapp

Director Margaret McDonagh
Director Shirley Pittz
Director Beth Nordlund
Director Pat Redmond
Director Keri Clark
Director Schawna Thoma